Posted in Discussion, NaNoWriMo, Novel, Other Posts, Update, Writing

Taking a Look at November

Hello, guys!

I’m currently not reading any books I will be reviewing, so instead I thought I would spend some time on just discussing something that is keeping me intrigued for the most of the year. And that is NaNoWriMo.

I know, it’s only August and there are months until I will have to write a novel of 50,000 pages or more, but I want to be as prepared as I can when the event finally comes around. Since I hardly outline anything, one thing I love doing is getting my survival kit ready.

I’ve recently come around to completing the list of my survival kit, now I will have to focus on actually collecting and gathering all of the things I’ve listed there. Along with the list, I will explain why I need some things and so on.

First things first, though. It will be my third try at NaNoWriMo and by so far, I’ve won both of the times of participating. And I consider that a huge success, mainly because at my very first one in 2013, I nearly didn’t make it. And during these years, I’ve come to really understand what I need to write and be as inspired as possible.

  1. My Computer – not going to go into details, but that’s a must. How else would I write? I’ve tried writing with pens and papers, but that’s a huge no-no and a pain in the wrist.
  2. Microsoft Word 2010 + Scrivener – two programs I use on my computer. The former one for the actual writing, Scrivener for notes and so on. I have no idea if I am going to use the latter one this year, but I still have months to think about that, so…
  3. Fancy Notebooks + Lots of Paper – now these two, however, are definite musts. I kept a notebook last year to kind of write down a few notes ever so often. I also used lots of paper for all of that.
  4. Huge Collection of Pens – if I’m going to write down notes on paper, I also need a lot of pens to do that.
  5. Fairy Lights – ooh, that’s a must. I can’t write without these amazing Christmasy lights around. They make me feel so fuzzy, they make the place look festive for the upcoming holiday and are just pretty. Make me inspired, as well.
  6. Coffee – as a huge coffee lover and drinker, there is never too much of that drink. I mean, I drink three cups a day, which is nothing when compared to some people, but I still think it’s a lovely drink, especially when I want to write.
  7. Dark Chocolate – mainly for giving myself prizes every now and then. I don’t eat sweets like a lot of people do, but I am no such person. I don’t want to eat a lot while I write, so no sweets for me. Only dark chocolate.
  8. My Personal Emotional NaNoWriMo Playlist + Glee Christmas Songs + Spotify – when you wanna write, you gotta listen to music, am I right? Well, maybe not in everybody’s case, but I personally can’t write without listening to anything.
  9. Google Translate + Dictionaries – let me tell you something. I write my novels in English, so I have to use translation programs sometimes, if I somehow don’t remember how a word was in English or vice versa.
  10. Thesaurus – that’s obvious.
  11. Rhymezone – for when I need to rhyme some words. Doesn’t happen too often, though.
  12. Pinterest – I have boards for all of my characters there. So if you want to know what my novels are about, you’re gonna have to find my writer pinterest account.
  13. Scented Candles – my all-time favourite things. How would I manage the whole november without these?

I know it’s still months until November, but I also didn’t want to leave you without a post, so I thought I would talk about what I am thinking about at the moment.

Do you participate in NaNoWriMo? Are you already hyped or do you wait until the very beginning of the month? What does your survival kit contain?

Leave a Reply

