Posted in Discussion, NaNoWriMo, Novel, Other Posts, Update, Young Adult

Writing Novels

Hey, guys!

Like mentioned in my previous post, I am currently not reading any books which I will review so for the next few week or so, I will most likely be continuing my discussion type of posts. Last time, I wrote about already putting my NaNoWriMo survival kit together, but this time I won’t be talking about the upcoming November. This time, I’ll talk about today.

So, writing a whole novel is some pretty difficult work. It takes time, drains you out of inspiration in most cases and is definitely not a pretty thing like one can imagine while reading a book. It’s hard work and at most times a little bit too much to handle.

My typical writing month has, for the last two years, been November, because the pressure this event puts on me makes me want to complete a novel or at least 50,000 words in this one month. But do I really enjoy writing that much in November alone? Pressure is one thing, but writing a thing I like is completely another.

Now that I look back at the two NaNos, I can see I liked my general idea of these novels I wrote, but I had things which I didn’t like that much and all that pushed me to write more was the pressure. These things combined made me think I was unable to write for the most of the year. But now I’ve found out it’s clearly not the case.

Pressure is a fun thing — makes people write. But inspiration is more rewarding. And the one and most obvious reason why I have not been able to write for most of the year is the fact that most of my story ideas nad characters suck, are lame, impossible to relate to and just boring. I have been trying to write novels on ideas which don’t work out.

A good idea takes time to develop itself and make you understand if you truly like it or not. Most of the cases, I’ve thought of an idea and started writing a book on it, but I haven’t been able to give myself or the idea some time to shape. And the initial idea of a novel is most of the times just not all you need.

Last night, I thought I would start writing a novel I’ve been planning to ever since I read A Court of Thorns and Roses  (see review here) by Sarah J. Maas. Well, I got a simple idea from reading that book — there is a huntress girl who faces the apocalyptic world. And ever since having that idea, it’s been brewing in my head and kind of figuring itself out.

And so last night, I did decide to start writing it. And guess what? I wrote the 1,667 words that I barely manage to write in a day of NaNoWriMo, all in just one sitting. And that amount of words to write in a day seemed like torture during November at both times I participated in the event. But today, I’ve already written about 9,500 words by the time I’m writing this blog post. And even though a lot of writers manage to do even better, it’s a huge achievement for me.

And that is wicked. So I’ve come to understand I don’t need the pressure of NaNoWriMo to write. I just need an amazing idea that as been in my mind for long enough.

What do you all think about the pressure of NaNoWriMo? Do you manage to write your stories at any other times as well? How do you write — do you have an idea and immediately start writing on it or let it sink in and think thoroughly about it before starting to write?

One thought on “Writing Novels

  1. I tried NaNoWriMo last year- did not work out! 🙂 With all the other life-stuff happening I just couldn’t keep up and being a zombie after work every day didn’t aid the case either.. but that’s all excuses innit! 🙂

    I find that I have a a ton of drafts, all with different ideas and storylines in the MS Office cloud.. waiting to be developed… but yes, I get an idea and i don’t properly lay it out.. I write some and am on the go… then I stop cause it just … it’s not going anywhere…. then I get an idea and I’m like “Ah, that’s a whole new story ain’t it?!” and I start a new draft 😀
    I guess I am simply meant to be a reader as I find it hard to express myself and sort out my chaotic thoughts… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

