Posted in 5 Stars, Fantasy, Novel, Review, Young Adult

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Levender by Leslye Walton | Review

22774988The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
Published by Walker Books Ltd,
Young Adult Magical Realism Novel,
300 pages, paperback,
Finished on 11th of June, 2016
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Amazon


Love makes us such fools…

Pain in love appears to be a Roux family birthright, and for Ava Lavender, a girl born with the wings of a bird, it is key to her inheritance.

Longing to fit in with her peers, Ava ventures away from home, ill-prepared for what awaits her in a world that does not know whether to view her as girl or angel.

Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo until, on the summer solstice, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air and Ava’s fate is revealed.

A mesmerizing, lyrical tale of longing, desire and the nature of love.


WARNING! Spoilers ahead!

I know it’s a long time since the last time I posted anything in this blog. But I do intend to change that now. My reading life hasn’t ceased to exist, however. I have been reading a lot more than ever before. If I were able to review books that actively as well, that woud be cool.

However, let’s get into the book talk.

I must say I was kind of in a reading slump before reading this book. Right after reading Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, I kind of lost the ability to read because the was just so mesmerizing (and I still have a love-hate relationship with it).

After reading the story of Ava Lavender, I can’t say it grabbed me from my heart and pulled me out of the slump, but it still was a good novel to read.

What I really liked about the story is the interesting style. Most books I’ve read focus on a story – one that has a goal. But this one was more like a diary in a form that it told many many different stories of different people. The fact that it began with describing the life of the ancestors of Ava and slowly made it to the birth and life of the girl was just amazing.

It was interesting to see how the whole family had lived their lives and how it kind of followed one single theme of love and its pain.

I can’t say I really sympathised a lot with the main character herself. I was kind of more torn towards Emilienne and Henry and even the struggles of Gabe and Viviane and their relationship. Since the novel didn’t focus on one single story for most of the time, I can say I just didn’t really like Ava‘s story that much in the beginning.

But. The ending though. I found the most of the plot to be lighthearted and simple, but the darkness and mystery which came with Nathaniel Sorrows was just pure awesomeness. He was introduced into the story as a saint, as an innocent angelic creature. Seeing him devolve into a merciless, soulless beast was just both heartbreaking and depressing at the same time. I didn’t really sympathise with him at all, but his and Ava‘s actions were what really made me love him.

The ending was so so so dark that I don’t have the words to describe it. The essential part of the whole story of the novel was the fact that Ava was born with wings. And Nathaniel chopping down her wings was cruel, merciless, heartless. I am not that emotional when reading books – I feel the emotions, but I don’t really cry – but this time, I couldn’t handle the emotions. I was the closest to crying while reading than I have ever been.

Because the way Nathaniel acted was just so unfair.

I think the magic was kind of interesting in this book. People had weird magical abilites – Emilienne‘s witchy powers, Viviane‘s amazing sense of smell and so on. They were such subtle things, but they added so much to the story. I kind of liked that about it.

Before the endgame, I was thinking about how this novel was not so great at all, but when I reached the end, I started to put the pieces together and form a greater picture.I really liked that at all.

Is it a book I would recommend? If you can handle the slightly slower paced story, then yes. If you are looking for a lighthearted book with a dark end, then why are you not reading it yet?


IMG_6849

What is Erik up to?

Right now, I am focusing on my own new epic fantasy novel writing-wise, as well as a sci-fi novel which I’ve been working on since last summer. Reading-wise, I have taken up Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton, which looks like a great book. My greatest plan this summer is to finally finish The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, as well as read the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

Leave a Reply

