Posted in Discussion, Epic Fantasy, NaNoWriMo, Other Posts, Science Fiction, Writing, Young Adult

From Sci-Fi to Epic Fantasy

Hello, everybody!

For nearly four years now, I’ve been seriously working on my own writing projects, including NaNoWriMo and several other novels. However, not until now have I come to the understanding that I am primarily a Young Adult Science Fiction writer and that I hardly write anything else.

That is, until I started writing an Epic Fantasy (or high fantasy, whichever you prefer) novel this spring. I didn’t really think about it, I just wanted to jump into it and complete my all-time wish to write a novel with a great huge story.

But as it turns out, Sci-Fi and Epic Fantasy are two very different genres to write. So what did I understand after writing the first few chapters?

First of all, the amount of characters has drastically changed. I can’t say my previous works (all unpublished) have had very few characters – my third novel had 23 and counting important named characters – but all of them had been introduced throughout the whole trilogy. However, with my epic fantasy novel, I have written maybe a 1/9th of the novel and I already have 25 named characters, which I find is a lot for me to handle.

Well, yes, not all of them are as important as the main six of the novel, but the fact that I have to make all of them believable, give them backstory and motives, is a little bit less manageable than having only four main characters throughout a whole trilogy.

Secondly, preparation becomes a thing. I haven’t had to do a lot of work before jumping into a novel before with the Sci-Fi, but with Epic Fantasy, things would get really messy that way.

I have drawn a complete map of the main continent of the story, I have made 4 different MS Word documents in my novel folder, which include information about the plot, characters, factions and races. And there’s more to be done – the history of the world must be completely fleshed out, religions need to be worked on a little bit more and I am sure I need to keep track of the different kingdoms in the novel (let’s not even mention all the different languages I have to work out).

What I’ve also found out is that Epic Fantasy is a pain in the arse to write. I write only in third person past, but I still need to jump around all of the main characters’ viewpoints and give them all different quirks as they are shattered around the continent. Yes, for the first time, I am writing characters who aren’t all from the same region.

And what is more, all the characters whose viewpoints I write in have their own independent stories. Ooh yeah, that means I am really not writing one novel but three intertwining stories at the same time.

Welp, that’s a hell of a work to do.

2 thoughts on “From Sci-Fi to Epic Fantasy

  1. Wow, it really sounds like you have a helluva task in your hands 🙂 But it will all be worth it in the end.. I am also trying to write bits and pieces. Recently I started a story which has some elements of Estonian folklore/legends but tweaked into modern day characters so I am hoping, what with work responsibilities allowing I might be able to get a chunk of it written before and during the upcoming nanowrimo 🙂
    I have used MS office in the past but have found it irritating? Don’t know why, but I discovered that using the Text Document worked better for me. A file for each paragraph… i don’t think I’ve ever been that organised before 😀

    Good luck with your writing…! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you !

      Huh, I think then we’re kind of like the exact opposites. 😀 I have tried to use this method of keeping chapters or paragraphs or anything really in different text files, but it hasn’t worked out for me. I guess when I am writing a novel, I have to feel like I am writing one whole novel, not individual parts of it. But it’s awesome if you can write like that! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

