Posted in 5 Stars, Fantasy, Novel, Review, Young Adult

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Levender by Leslye Walton | Review

22774988The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
Published by Walker Books Ltd,
Young Adult Magical Realism Novel,
300 pages, paperback,
Finished on 11th of June, 2016
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Amazon


Love makes us such fools…

Pain in love appears to be a Roux family birthright, and for Ava Lavender, a girl born with the wings of a bird, it is key to her inheritance.

Longing to fit in with her peers, Ava ventures away from home, ill-prepared for what awaits her in a world that does not know whether to view her as girl or angel.

Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo until, on the summer solstice, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air and Ava’s fate is revealed.

A mesmerizing, lyrical tale of longing, desire and the nature of love.


Continue reading “The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Levender by Leslye Walton | Review”

Posted in 5 Stars, Fantasy, Novel, Review, Young Adult

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury Children’s,
Young Adult Fantasy Novel,
416 pages, paperback,
Finished on 10th of August, 2015
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Amazon


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Continue reading “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review”

Posted in 5 Stars, Novel, Review, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Divergent by Veronica Roth │ Review

Divergent by Veronica Roth,
Part of the Divergent Series,
Published by Katherine Tegen Books,
Dystopian Science Fiction,
487 pages, paperback,
Finished on June 30, 2014
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
Amazon


Goodness, my very first book review. Hope it turned out good enough. 😀


In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the YA scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.


Continue reading “Divergent by Veronica Roth │ Review”