Posted in 5 Stars, Fantasy, Novel, Review, Young Adult

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Levender by Leslye Walton | Review

22774988The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
Published by Walker Books Ltd,
Young Adult Magical Realism Novel,
300 pages, paperback,
Finished on 11th of June, 2016
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Amazon


Love makes us such fools…

Pain in love appears to be a Roux family birthright, and for Ava Lavender, a girl born with the wings of a bird, it is key to her inheritance.

Longing to fit in with her peers, Ava ventures away from home, ill-prepared for what awaits her in a world that does not know whether to view her as girl or angel.

Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo until, on the summer solstice, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air and Ava’s fate is revealed.

A mesmerizing, lyrical tale of longing, desire and the nature of love.


Continue reading “The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Levender by Leslye Walton | Review”

Posted in Discussion, Novel, Other Posts, Update, Writing

How To Pick an Agent (and Live Happily Ever After)

Another really awesome post from a fellow book/writing blogger, this time focusing on the writing side of literature. Definitely worth to check it out! 😉

A Writer's Path

control-427510_640

Warning: I can get over-excited with my blog posts and pull an Agatha Christie sort of “I will make you wait until the very end to see the take home message.” Here it is, up front:

Ask agents offering you representation for at least three client references. Contact them.

View original post 814 more words

Posted in Discussion, NaNoWriMo, Novel, Other Posts, Update, Young Adult

Writing Novels

Hey, guys!

Like mentioned in my previous post, I am currently not reading any books which I will review so for the next few week or so, I will most likely be continuing my discussion type of posts. Last time, I wrote about already putting my NaNoWriMo survival kit together, but this time I won’t be talking about the upcoming November. This time, I’ll talk about today.

So, writing a whole novel is some pretty difficult work. It takes time, drains you out of inspiration in most cases and is definitely not a pretty thing like one can imagine while reading a book. It’s hard work and at most times a little bit too much to handle.

Continue reading “Writing Novels”

Posted in Discussion, NaNoWriMo, Novel, Other Posts, Update, Writing

Taking a Look at November

Hello, guys!

I’m currently not reading any books I will be reviewing, so instead I thought I would spend some time on just discussing something that is keeping me intrigued for the most of the year. And that is NaNoWriMo.

I know, it’s only August and there are months until I will have to write a novel of 50,000 pages or more, but I want to be as prepared as I can when the event finally comes around. Since I hardly outline anything, one thing I love doing is getting my survival kit ready.

I’ve recently come around to completing the list of my survival kit, now I will have to focus on actually collecting and gathering all of the things I’ve listed there. Along with the list, I will explain why I need some things and so on.

Continue reading “Taking a Look at November”

Posted in 5 Stars, Fantasy, Novel, Review, Young Adult

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury Children’s,
Young Adult Fantasy Novel,
416 pages, paperback,
Finished on 10th of August, 2015
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Amazon


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Continue reading “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review”

Posted in 4.5 Stars, Novel, Review, Young Adult

Paper Towns by John Green | Review

Paper Towns by John Green,
Published by Speak,
Young Adult Realistic Fiction,
305 pages, paperback,
Finished on August 6, 2015
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 
Amazon


Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…


Continue reading “Paper Towns by John Green | Review”

Posted in 5+ Stars, Novel, Review, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Review

Allegiant by Veronica Roth,
Part of the Divergent Series,
Published by Katherine Tegen Books,
Dystopian Science Fiction,
526 pages, paperback,
Finished on December 25, 2014
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 
Amazon


Goodness, a lot of time has passed since the last update. Now I should actually post the promised review of Allegiant. Hope you won’t kill me now.


Continue reading “Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Review”