Posted in 5 Stars, Fantasy, Novel, Review, Young Adult

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury Children’s,
Young Adult Fantasy Novel,
416 pages, paperback,
Finished on 10th of August, 2015
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Amazon


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Continue reading “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Review”

Posted in Discussion, Other Posts, Update

About Reading Activity

Hello, everybody!

I am not sure if I am the only reader who acts like that, but I do think it’s weird and not too common, perhaps? What I mean in particularly is the fact that my reading schedule is extremely shattered and spread around. It’s like a rollercoaster which stays at low for a while and then burst up into extreme heights … just to fall again very soon.

It’s strange to feel that way — sometimes I feel like I should read a book, but I’m either too lazy, too busy or just don’t feel like reading at all. Just spending my time in the internet and doing useless things seems so much easier at such times. And when I get back to my Goodreads, I notice how behind I am at my reading challenge.

Reading is fun and I love doing that, but everybody has such moments when they feel like they don’t want to read a thing. Well, these moments last for more than weeks in my case. And the times when I’m extremely inspired to read? These typically last for a few days or so — until I finish the book I have been reading.

Now, a huge inspiring thing which makes me want to read is shopping for books. I love buying new ones, even if I am not able to read them that much. I’m a hoarder and must have all the books I can. Borrowing books from the library feels like cheating to me. Because when I read, I want to have the feeling like the book is mine and nobody else can have it — I have no limitations, I can read it whenever I want to with no worries about returning it or anything. I like the convenience of having a book I’ve bought for myself.

So, lately I managed to get to book shop in a while and spend just a little bit of money. I bought two books I knew I would love: Paper Towns by John Green and Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle. The former was read in one evening + one morning, the latter has to wait until Christmas. And along with these two, I bought a book I was kind of unsure if I would like. And that was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

Buying new books makes me so excited and interested in reading again. Right after buying Paper Towns, I felt like I had to start reading it. Right away. And I did. It was a nice read. A few days went by and then I started reading the third book I bought. Now I’ve been reading it for a few days and can’t just put it down. Such reading makes me forget my real life responsibilities. And what’s the best thing about it? I am so inspired that I just have to read and I can’t force myself to stop doing that.

But what am I going to do after the Sarah J. Maas book? I don’t have books I want to read in my house right now, I can’t read Let It Snow at summer either. Such a dilemma. And even worse, I am quite sure this lack of reading material will make me start a new period of laziness which I will have to overcome through hard work.

Sigh. That’s difficult to handle. So what should I do — buy new books again?

How do you feel about your reading activity/schedule? Do you enjoy your pace or are you trying to fix that? What inspires you to make you read?

Posted in 4.5 Stars, Novel, Review, Young Adult

Paper Towns by John Green | Review

Paper Towns by John Green,
Published by Speak,
Young Adult Realistic Fiction,
305 pages, paperback,
Finished on August 6, 2015
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 
Amazon


Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…


Continue reading “Paper Towns by John Green | Review”

Posted in Other Posts, Update

General Update

Hello, everybody!

A lot of time has passed since my last update — it’s been about half a year and I am so sorry for that! When I started this blog, I was so inspired, so full of muse to do that, so energised to read every book in my way. But all of that faded and other responsibilities took my mind over. But now I am trying to return. Not with the pace I had in the end of the last year, but still.

Right now, I am focusing on getting my hands on Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth, Paper Towns by John Green and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and I am trying to write my next book review on any of these three.

But until then, have a great summer, read lots of books and see you soon!

What are your favourite summer-time books? How many books have you read this summer? What are the novels you really want to read right now?

Posted in 5+ Stars, Novel, Review, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Review

Allegiant by Veronica Roth,
Part of the Divergent Series,
Published by Katherine Tegen Books,
Dystopian Science Fiction,
526 pages, paperback,
Finished on December 25, 2014
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 
Amazon


Goodness, a lot of time has passed since the last update. Now I should actually post the promised review of Allegiant. Hope you won’t kill me now.


Continue reading “Allegiant by Veronica Roth | Review”

Posted in Other Posts, Update

2015 Plans, Goals, Wishes

Oh goodness, it is finally 2015! Another lovely year of books has begun and it’s time to talk about the upcoming reading marathon. Because this year, I shall focus on books more than I have ever done so far.

Like I wrote in my post yesterday, 2014 was a nice year of reading, but this one shall be a lot better. Now that I look at my 2015 bookshelf, I can see I have planned to finish all of the books I’ve started reading ages ago, but also many new ones will be read. Right now, there are 23 books in the shelf and it looks to me that it’s not too much for me.

I will be continuing the awesome book series The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, maybe I can even finish it this year! Another series I am trying to read on is the one of Septimus Heap which I actually wanted to completely abandon last year. Going on, there is Harry Potter (3 books left to read), A Song of Ice and FireThe Iron Druid ChroniclesThe Lord of the Rings and a few more. Looks like it will be a year of continuing and starting book series.

Well, my goal this year will be to read at least 20 books, but I really hope I can, for once, complete a whole bookshelf of a year. As I am still in school, I believe there will be a lot compulsory literature which will add some 23 books in this year’s bookshelf and maybe add up to 30 books.

Ooh, nice!

I am a bit afraid of this year, too. Because I promised to myself that I don’t leave any books unfinished anymore so I will have to continue reading some books I truly hate and which I should have actually read last year. The total of these books is 5, so that’s not too bad. But it still gives me shivers.

So… What do I wish from this new year? First, lots of new books. I love buying “real” books as I don’t like reading e-books or even worse…  borrow them from a library. I have nothing against them, but I really want to actually own the books I read and not have to worry about taking them back to the library or anything. I am a “collector”, I assume.

What else do I wish? That I finally read Lord of the Rings. I have promised to read that for year and I still haven’t done that. Which is a shame. But 2015 will be a year of fixing my mistakes and doing a lot of new, even better stuff.

One thing I don’t like is that this year (as I don’t read a book a day like some reviewers) I will not be able to write a review a day, but will have to make posts weekly… or even monthly, if it really goes that bad. I truly hope it will not be that bad, though.

What do you wish from this new year? Are you challenging yourself with anything? Are you looking to do something new?